The start of Christmas 2022!

Brought to you by Saffron Walden Town Council (SWTC), Friday 18th November afternoon saw the start of the Christmas festivities in Saffron Walden.  Following the Town Crier’s Proclamation in the Market Square, Saffron Community Choir entertained with Christmas Carols for everyone to join in with. It was then the turn of Saffron Walden County High School Choir and Tempos Performing Arts.  Rapunzel and Flynn Ryder also arrived in town to entertain in the Market Square.  If you would like to see Rapunzel and her princess friends please visit myprincessparty.co.uk

With the community gathering in readiness around the Christmas tree to watch the Lantern Parade to be led by Father Christmas and Town Mayor, Cllr James de Vries.  The Sleigh departed St Mary’s Church and headed for The Market Square, following in the Lantern Parade was SWCHS Choir, Tempos Performing Arts, Saffron Players and plenty of families alike. At 18.00, with over 2000 people ready and waiting, the Lights were switched on and a Christmas Disco party continued the evening.  A huge thank you Stuart Vant from InXpress, SWTC’s compere and DJ throughout the event.

Saffron Walden were lucky to have Father Christmas take time out of his busy schedule to visit twice over the weekend; on Friday 18th and again on Sunday 20th November SWTC’s FREE, specially created, Grotto in the Town Hall gave 350 children and their families a chance to see and talk with Father Christmas.  It raised over £425.00 in donations for the Mayors charities; Accurro, Citizen’s Advice and Support for Sight.

Continuing on Sunday 20th November, a bustling market saw Fayre in the Square enjoyed by many and offered a perfect chance for Christmas shopping. Somewhere to Sing provided musical entertainment for shoppers  The event was a success with many traders selling out by the end of the day.  Running alongside this throughout the weekend in the Town Hall was the Christmas Gift Fair – if you missed it, it will be back on 2nd December – 4th December!

Saffron Walden Town Council would like to thank; all its sponsors (Uttlesford District Council, Intercounty, InXpress, Tela, Radleys, Pelly’s, Adams Harrison, Contamac, Coles Menswear and Wilby & Burnett); stewarding by volunteer groups – The Saffron Walden Lions, The Diamonds, UCAN, and Saffron Hall; Town Crier – Matt Clare, St Mary’s Church, Round Table – Sleigh and stewards;  and Father Christmas and his elves!

Other Christmas Events in Saffron Walden:

Saturday 12th November: Winter Fair at the United Reform Church Hall, 10am to 2pm: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/winter-fair/

Friday 18th November: Christmas Gift Fair in Saffron Walden Town Hall: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/christmas-gift-fair-2/

Saturday 19th November: Christmas Gift Fair in Saffron Walden Town Hall: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/christmas-gift-fair-3/

Sunday 20th November: Christmas Gift Fair in Saffron Walden Town Hall: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/christmas-gift-fair-4/

Saturday 26th November: St Mary’s Church Saffron Walden Christmas Fair: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/st-marys-church-saffron-walden-christmas-fair/

Sunday 27th November: Christmas Craft Fair at Saffron Walden Town Football Club: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/christmas-craft-fair-at-saffron-walden-town-football-club/

Sunday 27th November: Museum Shop Sunday at Saffron Walden Museum: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/museum-shop-sunday-2/

Thursday 1st December: Festive Evening Event with local shops open until 8pm https://www.saffronwaldenbid.co.uk/festive-evening/

Friday 2nd December: Christmas Gift Fair in Saffron Walden Town Hall: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/christmas-gift-fair-5/

Friday 2nd December: Saffron Walden Light Night Shopping: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/saffron-walden-late-night-shopping/

Saturday 3rd December: Christmas Gift Fair in Saffron Walden Town Hall: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/christmas-gift-fair-6/

Sunday 4th December: Christmas Gift Fair in Saffron Walden Town Hall: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/christmas-gift-fair-7/

Tuesday 6th December: Christmas Marbling at Saffron Walden Museum: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/christmas-marbling-at-saffron-walden-museum/

Wednesday 7th December: Federation of Essex Women’s Institutes Carol Concerts: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/fewi-carol-concerts/

Sunday 11th December: St Mary’s Church Saffron Walden Christingle Service: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/st-marys-church-saffron-walden-christingle/

Sunday 18th December: St Mary’s Church Saffron Walden Christmas Carol Service: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/st-marys-church-saffron-walden-christmas-carol-service-2/

Thursday 22nd December to Thursday 29th December: Robin Hood Pantomime at Saffron Hall: https://www.visitsaffronwalden.gov.uk/event/pantomime-robin-hood/

13th to 15th and 19th to 21st January 2023: Saffron Players Panto ‘The Princess and the Pea’ https://thelittleboxoffice.com/saffronplayers

27th-29th January 2023: Sleeping Beauty by Newport Amateur Theatrical Society https://www.facebook.com/NATSTheatrical